Hailstone Ice Cream

Image

The picture above (taken a couple of years ago) depicts a couple of my favorite things. Grandson Eli and my antique ice cream maker.

I was reminded of the photo while leafing through my friend’s (Donna Poulsen, nee Flinn) “Flinn”tabulous family book – “Six generations of fantastic and fabulous recipes and a legacy of precious memories”. Such a great collection, and so much work required to pull it all together.

I came across a page about home made ice cream, and found it very interesting to read one “child’s” recollections of a novel way to make the delicious dessert.

Image

“Hail storms were not welcomed by our parents, but we kids knew they would produce ice cream. The hail was used in place of ice in the ice cream maker, and so we had a much enjoyed dish of ice cream.” – as remembered by Jean Beaver

1 pint (2 cups) milk, yolks of 2 eggs, 1/2 lb of sugar (1 cup).Mix together and scald. (we just mix it well with egg beater) Add 1 pint (2 cups) of whipped cream and beaten whites of 2 eggs. Flavor and freeze. This is enough for 1 qt. of ice cream. Double recipe for 2 qts. etc.  – Grandma Rose Flinn’s recipe

I wonder if my treasured ice antique ever made hailstone ice cream. That got me wishing for a talking ice cream maker. I think some fabulous stories could be told.

Leave a Reply

