Dear Grandma

When I was in grade one, and learning to print, my Dad helped me write a letter to my Grandma. I adored her, and was so excited to show her what I was learning in school. Dad helped me spell out each word. It went something like this:

“Dear Grandma:
How are you? I am fine. I like school. I like to read.
I hope you are feeling better.”

When it came time to say good bye. Dad told me to print “Love, Laurel”.
I found this to be quite disturbing. I knew I loved my grandma, but wasn’t sure I should demand that she love me.

I mulled it over and finally settled on:

Like, Laurel

Image

Leave a Reply

